Monday, September 29, 2014

Opinion 215: Sexy

Good2Go - the new app for obtaining consent.  You can't make this up.

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Opinion 213: Futile Question

Anyone else reading N.T. Wright's big book on Paul?

(futile in the sense that this blog has no readers)

Friday, April 25, 2014

Opinion 212

If only I had a free drink for every time the Ochlophobist has deleted all his blog posts!
Okay, really, it wouldn't be enough.  But it would be a start.

Monday, April 21, 2014

Opinion 211

Two whiskeys in this Bright Monday!  My daughter sleeps and my son runs around naked, skin dyed in Easter egg red.  Therefore there is now no condemnation.

Sunday, April 20, 2014

Opinion 210

A happy and blessed and indulgent Pascha to each and every one!  Lord, I had to wipe the dust off the blog just to write that sentence!  Ah well, Christ is Risen, and not one blogger is left dormant.

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Opinion 209: Habits

Whiskeys I've had this week:
-Templeton Rye (my God, so good!)
-Michter's Rye (hot, spicy, good lord - what is that? Try it with maple syrup, a splash of orange bitters and a dash of lemon juice)
-Jameson (well, you've gotta shoot something)
-Jim Beam (I call him James)
-Cabin Still (I am embarrassed...but not that embarrassed)

And how young this week is!

Thursday, September 26, 2013

Opinion 208: that interview

One thing that bothered me, and one thing that encouraged me, while reading Pope Francis' now infamous interview:
-A bother: he had nothing to say about the rising strength of the PAC-12 Conference this year, which is now clearly only second to the SEC, and perhaps even almost an equal.  I mean, this is as clear as day, and I was disturbed that he just passed over it in silence.  We need to learn to read the signs of our times, your holiness!
-A blessing: he didn't condemn heavy drinking, as far as I could tell.

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Opinion 207: An Ode to Futility

 I have now spent just over two years reading Heidegger's Being and Time.  Along the way I have read two guides and commentaries on the text and have managed to listen to two lecture series on the book, one from Berkley and the other from Harvard.  Two years in, I have just made it to Part Two.

In the meantime I've stopped going to church, began to tolerate seven drinks a day, taken to the cigarette, stopped praying, and developed a coarse mouth. Generally speaking, I have descended into disarray; my moral compass has gone limp and I am plagued with routine bouts of sickness both of the body and mind.

Godammit, Heidegger!  How I love your incomprehensible and clearly destructive ideas!

Saturday, September 14, 2013

Opinion 206

The lead-in to a new AFR podcast::
This past September 9, on an extremely sultry evening in Franklin, Tennessee, an ecumenical group of Christians met at the home of a local Orthodox parishioner for Scotch and cigars and to listen to Dr. Clark Carlton speak about the essence and energies of God. 

oh, it is so funny and yet it hurts my heart so.

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Opinion 205

Perhaps the most surprising thing about adulthood is the fact that I simply do not behave as well as I thought I would.